The Grey

The Grey was a powerful, melodic rock quartet that periodically delves into experimental tangents. With influences ranging from Fugazi, the Jesus Lizard, Seaweed, Drive Like Jehu, and Juno to Tom Petty, The MC5, Neil Young, and Nick Cave, one can be assured that hints of styles, new and established, can be found in their post-rock stylings.
Formed in the spring of 2003 in Ottawa, Canada, The Grey turned sporadic practices among old friends in a sweltering attic into a weekly ritual. This allowed the members of previous bands such as Shotmaker, Three Penny Opera, and Buried Inside to assemble a new musical group. These casual sessions quickly began to churn out a hybrid of punk rock and quirky experimental parts that sparked the enthusiasm of everyone involved and The Grey was born. Matt Deline, Hayden Menzies, and Chuck Saso had crossed paths before in Three Penny Opera and recruited longtime friend Steve Martin of Buried Inside. Steve’s departure in 2004 to devote himself to Buried Inside left an opening that was wholeheartedly filled by Luke Rashotte. 
In August 2003 the Grey’s debut recording “Open Credit” was released on Ottawa punk rock patriarch Shawn Scallen’s record label spectrasonicsound. The Grey then released Asleep At The Wheel in 2006 to positive reviews. They toured Canada and Europe behind the release but never got to come to the United States to support the release as they were banned from entering the country for 5 years for not having proper permits to play a show in upstate NY.

They  performed with band such as Engine Down, Thursday, The Constantines, Pretty Girls Make Graves, Death From Above 1979, among others. 
The Grey was Matt Deline (guitar/vox), Hayden Menzies (percussion), Chuck Saso (guitar/back vox), and Luke Rashotte (bass/vox).